On February: UGH. and other updates

Oh well, February – I can’t say I’m in love with you. I mean, I’m not blaming the fact that I’m a bitter old hag who hates Valentines Day (and for that matter, the entire month that is you), or the fact that I keep asking for an extra hour everyday when here you are shaving off at least two days to the proverbial month. You see, we have a history, February, you and I – often this second month of the year tends to short-stick me on varying aspects of my life (and yes, most of these short-sticked incidents involve Valentines Day and my relationships themselves – there you go).

So I’m kinda not surprised when I found myself stuck on some sort of reader’s block (or rut, or limbo, or whatnot) midway through the month, so much so that after 28 days I only managed to read eight out of my minimum monthly quota of ten books. Hopefully the 1001 Books society doesn’t kick me out/excommunicate me – I didn’t manage to read a single book on the list(s) for my 1001 Reads. I did, however, manage to make my three-awards-a-month quota with my Book Awards project. Uh, well, I read one book, but it did win three awards (Pulitzer, NBCC, and Ambassador) – that counts as three, right?

  1. Dream Angus by Alexander McCall Smith
  2. The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood
  3. Textual Healing by Eric Smith
  4. Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
  5. The Girl Who Fell from the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow
  6. Stitches by David Small
  7. Chronicles of Wormwood by Garth Ennis and Jacen Burrows
  8. Your Wildest Dreams, Within Reason by Mike Sacks

On the upside, I did keep up with my Canongate Myths reading goal – I read two more books from the series, and they’re actually two of the three titles I was most excited to get my hands on: Margaret Atwood’s The Penelopiada re-telling of the story of Odysseus’ wife, Penelope – and Alexander McCall Smith’s Dream Angusan adaptation of the Celtic mythology’s youthful god of love and dreams.

Oh, and I love, love David Small’s Stitches, which reminds me so much of my favorite book. And I kinda noticed I didn’t read any translations (well, I did, but I wasn’t able to finish it).

While I did say I’d be reading two chunksters the whole month, I failed miserably at it. In fact, I failed miserably at finishing a book within my average 3-4 days. At the end of the month I’ve more half-read books than those I finished. Meh.

Oh well. At least whatever happens in March, I’d be happy – it is my birth month, after all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

