“But sleep remain a stranger to this night.” -Thoughts on The Color Purple by Alice Walker

I can’t beleef I’s took long to read this book. But then again, books have they way of coming to your life when’s you need them most.

I first hear of The Color Purple back when’s my friends taking up class in Film and Litratur. They was made to read it before them teacher show the movee to class. Sure was curios, them says it about poor black womans with lesbian tendesis. Plus the fact that Oprah had somethings to do with the film. Hear the book was famous. Felt likes I the only one who not read the book yet, but then forgots it until I pick it up on my book pile on New Year’s.

Book’s thin, not much to read, wudda have read it in one sitting if I’s wanted, but you know me, I likes to make good things last. Instead made myself not read it until night, before sleep, but then spent first three nights of the year with insomya. Thank the good Lord for this book or I’s have chewed sleeping pills like candy.

Do I’s got to tell you what it story for? Maybe I shudnt. Maybe you go and git a copy and read it yourself. I’s know what I tell you, tho. I’s tell you how nice it was, reading The Color Purple. Reminds me of Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Daniel Keyes’ Flowers for Algernon – them some of last year’s reads – more of the late one than that before, really. Celie’s a good bloke, not very bright, but her dumb she makes up for character. Her sister Nettie was the smart one, went off as a mishunary to Africa, sent letters to Celie that wudnt have been read because Celie’s husband dint givem to her. Damn Mr. _________ – good thing’s there Shug to help Celie out.

Oh, Shug. She be fine and dandy as hell. Feisty woman at a times when womans not supose to be. She like the version of Anna in Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina in somes way, and Kitty be Celie – they’s fall for the same man at the start, Vronsky. But Anna and Kitty dint git no lesbians with each other.

And there’s be everyone else: Harpo, his wives stubborn Sofia and singing Squeak; Celie’s childrens Olivia and Adam, born when Celie’s Pa raped her before he marry her off to Mr. ________; mishunarys Samuel and Corrine, who welcomes Nettie to the family when she ran away. They’s such a band of misfits they form a family that be perfect.

Damn. I’s said I aint telling you nothing. Now I’s must have spoiled you something.

The Color Purple git funny some, git really sad, too. There even be surprise bits. Mostly it thoughtful book, makes you think about lotsa things. Best part I read that make me pause and let things sink in, when Shug and Celie talk about God. Celie always write to God her letters, but then she stop. Shug ask her, then they’s talk about God.

Here’s the thing, say Shug. The thing I believe. God is inside you and inside everybody else. You come into the world with God. But only them that search for it inside find it. And sometimes it just manifest itself even if you not looking, or don’t know what you looking for. Trouble do it for most folks, I think. Sorrow, lord. Feeling like shit.

That Shug. She may be a sinner, but she knows God better than them some churchgoers.

PS. Writing like this, it git hard to keep up. Miss Walker ma’am, you’s one hell of a writer to keeps this up for an entire’s length of a book. Dang.

Comments
4 Responses to ““But sleep remain a stranger to this night.” -Thoughts on The Color Purple by Alice Walker”
  1. Karen says:

    Oh that’s because Miss Walker grew up with that way of speaking, I would think? 🙂

    • Pauline says:

      Haha. Why yes, that would be it. 😛 Though I have had one reader ask me if I actually talk this way! But hey, I had a grand time writing this one. I just hope people who read it would be curious enough as to why I’m writing this way to actually pick up the book and read it. 🙂

  2. Erin says:

    I have never read The Color Purple, and I think I need to, very soon. I’m so impressed you kept that style going for an entire review! I can’t even imagine how hard it would’ve been to do for a whole novel.

Leave a Reply

