A letter to Miguel Syjuco re: his book, Ilustrado

Dear Mr. Syjuco,

My warmest congratulations for your book Ilustrado being included in The New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2010. I have to admit, sadly, that I have yet to read your work, and I promise to make up for that by getting myself a copy before the year ends (such good timing – I’m drafting my Christmas wishlist). I heard that being a New York Times Notable Book is huge – but not as big, of course, as winning the 2008 Man Asian Literary Award (which I had no idea existed until you won, so thanks for that, too), but hey, it’s the New York Times, right?

Which is why I’m so proud. You’re like the Manny Pacquiao of Filipino book lovers everywhere (okay, maybe not just book lovers – more like especially to Pinoy book lovers).

This is of no importance, really; I just felt like I should let the world know how proud I am of you. So very, very proud.

That is all.

 

Merry Christmas in advance,

Pauline

Leave a Reply

